New York Mets logo

On this page you can view and download your favorite New York Mets logo from past and present, as well as read detailed club statistics. The New York Mets are a Baseball team competing in the Major League Baseball competition, and were founded in 1962.

To download your free New York Mets logo, simply Right Click on the logo image with your mouse, and then select the Save As option. From there you just need to select the location on your computer where you want to save it.

New York Mets logo

Logo Name: New York Mets

Sport: Baseball

League: Major League Baseball

League: National League

Division: East

Founded: 1962

Location: Queens, New York (USA)

Stadium: Citi Field

Championships: 1986, 1969

Retired Numbers: 14 - Gil Hodges, 31 - Mike Piazza, 37 - Casey Stengel, 41 - Tom Seaver, 42 - Jackie Robinson

Owner: Steve Cohen

Mascot: Mr. Met, Mettle the Mule, Mrs. Met


Page Views: 460

History of the New York Mets logo:

The Mets are one of the most popular teams in baseball, but strangely enough that’s not because of their successes. It’s odd the Mets are so highly regarded despite the fact that over the course of their nearly 60 years as a franchise they have only ever won the World Series twice, with their most recent victory being in 1986. Despite a number of seasons fielding a roster with major potential, the team has a well-documented history of figuratively dropping the ball (or in some cases, literally dropping the ball: See Luis Castillo’s famous error from 2009). Nevertheless, the Mets are known not only for their many close-calls throughout the years, but also for the nearly religious dedication of their fans.

The Mets first came into being in 1962 following the exodus of both the (formerly Brooklyn) Dodgers, and the (formerly New York) Giants. They were one of the teams newly created in the expansion of the National League. New York baseball fans hoped their new team would help bring glory back to their city which had once been central to the sport. In 1964 the Mets moved into the historic Shea Stadium, where they played until 2008, moving on to Citi Field for the 2009 season. Funnily enough, the team was first created as “The New York Metropolitan Baseball Club”, but luckily the powers that be wisely decided that simply “The Mets” would have a better ring to it.

The Mets logo has become iconic not just because of its association with the legends who have worn it, but also because it has not changed since it was first revealed in 1961. It was designed by a sports cartoonist named Ray Gotto for a contest, netting him $1000 and the lasting glory of having his work symbolize one of the most historically fascinating teams in baseball.

While many other franchises have opted to tweak, modernize, or overhaul their logos, the Mets have stood by their design for over 50 years now, only making changes so small that you wouldn’t even notice them unless you already knew to look for them. If you take a look at it you can see why: what else could be more emblematic of a team like this than New York City itself?

But that’s not all there is to it. In fact, there is a lot of intentional symbolism built into the design. While it may appear to just be the New York City skyline, it is in fact a composite skyline consisting of buildings from different parts of the city. Looking at the New York Mets logo you can see the Empire State Building, the United Nations, the Williamsburgh Savings Building (which was the tallest building in Brooklyn at the time), the Woolworth building, and a church spire (meant to symbolize Brooklyn’s status as the “Borough of Churches”). The bridge which crosses the whole image is meant to symbolize the Mets as a unifying force who brought the National League back to the city.

Despite their history of struggling to live up to their potential, it’s hard to find a team with a more rabidly loyal fanbase than the Mets. They have truly come to represent the city they display proudly on their logo.

Previous New York Mets logo versions:

1962 - 1992 logo

1962 - 1992

1993 - 1998 logo

1993 - 1998